Bahamas Cruise and Wedding Bells!

Right after the New Year, my family and I went on a cruise to the Bahamas (Nassau and Freeport). When I cay my family, I mean it. My Mom, Dad, sisters; Aunt Nell (Mom’s Sister) and her family and Uncle William (Mom’s Brother) and his family. In all, there was 16 of us. It was great!

It was quite an effort to get on the ship. Customs and check points…lots of waiting in lines. Once we got on the ship, Stephen and I went to our room and started unpacking a little bit. After we got settled, we headed out to the main bar and ordered out first drinks of many on this trip. (We got the Carnival Cheers Program, up to 15 drinks a day and unlimited soda…basically pre-paid. It was worth it.)

We headed up to the funnel of the ship and bid Charleston, SC farewell with my family before heading downstairs to get changed and to get into the HOT TUBS!! (because whats better than a hot tub on a cold day?)

The next day was our “fun day at sea” on our way to our first port in Nassau. Stephen and I decided to take our time. We woke up a little late and changed for the Serenity Deck (21+ only with 2 hot tubs and a waiter) and enjoyed brunch in the Celebration Dining Room. The Dining Room was great, it had windows so I could use the horizon line to not feel so sick! The food was great, and so was the company. We were seated next to a couple from Virginia and had a good chat with them while we all ate.

This is the exciting part:::

We headed up to the Lido Deck to walk down the Port side of the ship to the Serenity Deck. After getting out the door, Stephen stopped and started rooting through his backpack. I stopped and walked back to him, asking what he was doing. He answered, “Looking for a happy girlfriend!” I rolled my eyes and started to walk away, bu the called me back. He pulled a Ring Pop out of his bag: “You wanted a big rock, right?” DUH!!! Of course I did. he opened the candy and put it on my ring finger and I started to enjoy my sweet treat, when he interrupted my sugar bliss. He pulled out a box and opened it to reveal a BEAUTIFUL diamond ring and got down on one knee. Honestly, the connection between my ears and my brain must have fallen apart…because I don’t really remember him asking me if I would marry him. I started crying, and asked..multiple times…are you serious? of course i fell apart (all happy tears!!!) as he slid the ring on my finger.

I walked back to the Serenity deck, hand in hand with Stephen. Basically my whole family was there, they had just finished eating breakfast. My mom looked at me and asked me what was wrong. I just held up my hand…she DIDN’T NOTICE! She asked me again, so I pointed to the ring and said Moooommm!!!!! That finally got her attention. The ring was shown off and hugs went around. It was a picture perfect morning.

Stephen, of course, being an incredibly sweet and thoughtful man, then got me to take off my Pandora bracelet. When he put it back on, he asked about my newest charm. I showed him the cruise ship my Aunt Nell had given me. He admired it for a moment, before pulling my bracelet around and asking if i was sure that was the newest charm. Of course I gasped and started crying again…He had put the Gold and Diamond engagement ring dangle on my bracelet without me noticing.

Does it seriously get any sweeter?

That night at dinner, Dad bought champagne for everyone to toast our engagement…I might have cried a little more…It’s something I’m never going to forget.

The rest of the vacation was fabulous:

We went to John Watling’s Distillery (a great rum distillery that also produces a vodka. FREE SAMPLES!!!) and went to a fish fry (yum!) and cruised the shops and bought shells on the wharf in Nassau.

We went Snorkeling with the BEST eco-tour guide ever in Freeport. Scuba Steve can vouch for it (love ya, Daddy!) I found beautiful shells and was able to bring hold a sand dollar from the snorkle. We stopped on the way back to the ship and got to pick up as many conch shells as we wanted. There were tons of them!! Restaurants that cook conch just dump the shells back to the beach when they’re done. I’m pretty sure Stephen and I came back with like 7 of them.

Now that we’re home…let the wedding planning begin!!!

 

xoxo, Alexa

 

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in My Future Wedding..Someday, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

