Merry Christmas!

Christmas has come and gone in a blur, as per usual.

This was our first Christmas without Grammie. It was hard, but we made it throught with far less tears than I had anticipated!

We would well up here and their, but no major boo-hoos. I made mom cry with my gift to her: Philosophy’s Amazing Graze gift set…with a letter saying that she has carried herself with “amazing grace” since her Mama’s passing. My sisters and I cried when Mama handed us gifts marked for us from Grammie. Lydia received the horse brasses that hung in our great grandmother’s and Grammie’s homes. Caroline received a beautiful citrine necklace. I was given the rest of Grammie’s Mexican Brass Angel candle holders and a pair of double pearl earrings that were rumored to have been given to her on her wedding day. We cried, we smiled, we laughed.

Daddy bought an old projector for my mother and family for Christmas to show the movies we found cleaning out Grammie’s house. Mama, Daddy, Lyd and Carrie, Aunt Nell and Uncle Don and I all watched my mother’s first Christmas, Grammie and Dee’s first Christmas as a married couple, and other firsts and family videos. It was such a gift!!

It was a wonderful holiday, until Stephen called me on Saturday. He had been rear ended by a woman on I-95 near Quantico. His bumper is trashed, he has a headache (partially from another injury sustained that morning), and his shoulder is sore from the seat belt catching it. I couldn’t be more happy that he’s okay. I kind of rushed home after getting the news because I was worried about him. I knew that me being home would help him relax.

It was hard to leave my family so soon…but I’ll see them in 5 days!!! Bring on the New Year!

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

