I. Hate. I-270. Traffic.

The title should really say it all.

This morning my coworker and I sat in traffic for an HOUR AND A HALF. Our normal commute time tops out at 40 minutes at the most usually, it about 30 minutes. But today was a perfect storm of events. No pun intended.

First of all, if ANYTHING hits the windshield of a DMV driver, they slam on their brakes as if to convey terror. “OH MY GOD SOMETHING IS ON MY WINDSHIELD, I NEED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP ON THE HIGHWAY EVEN THOUGH MY LIFE IS IN NO WAY AT RISK AT THE MOMENT.” …that seems to be the thought process in my eyes.

Understanding this, I was ready to go by 8:00 am this morning because there was a drizzle. A DRIZZLE. So I text my coworker to say im ready. No usually quick response. I text again, “You ready?” Nothing. I called, and she asked if i got her text messages, To which I replied no…apparently she was outside. After she got my first text she rushed to get to my door. I walked out the door at 8:15 am to get into her car, and i got all 4 of her text messages at 8:22 am. So she was running behind this morning. Which USUALLY wouldn’t be a big deal at all!!!! But God had it out for us this morning.

We get onto the highway, and its jammed. completely. Again, not out of the ordinary, but it loosens up quickly. Not this morning. I put the address into Waze and it said we’d be at work by 9:10 am. I text my boss about my morning, and she was stuck in traffic as well.

Well, time goes on. We inch on. Literally, Inch. We didn’t hit over 10 miles an hour till the end of your commute. 7 mph was out average. SEVEN. I kept watching the arrival time estimator in Waze going higher and higher…I was getting nervous.

The last job I had, I was let go because I was a few minutes behind 3 days in a row. Today I was going to be almost 40 minutes late. I was petrified!!

We finally pull into work and I get out, get to my desk and sign in. 9:38 A.M.

Never in my life have I ever had such a tremendously horrible commute.

1 hour, 20 minutes to go 15.1 MILES.

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in DMV Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

