The Fat Lady Sings

This past weekend was really hard.

I got off work at 1:30, ran an errand and then hit the road around 2 to go to Richmond. Traffic was miserable. I got to Richmond around 5. Dad pulled up, and he and I left in the Budget rental truck at 5:45 to go to Bennettsville, SC. We finally pulled up in front of my Grammie’s house at about 11pm.

We got in, figured out sleeping arraignments, and I crashed pretty early. I slept in Grammie’s bedroom, I hadn’t slept in that room since I was younger.  My mom and sister stayed up talking to my Uncle William and Cousin Rob til about 2 am. I was just too tired to function at that point.

Mama shook me out at 8am, later than I had expected…and we got to work. Moving out furniture we wanted to keep, packing family odds and ends, and throwing away trash. It was a very hard thing to do. I packed an entire china set, that no one wants currently, but my mama is insisting she’s going to make one of my cousin’s bride’s very happy some day. I’m an extremely sentimental person…and it was hard not to feel selfish when there were things that were divided up.

What makes this even harder, is that i still live in an apartment. I don’t really have space for furniture right now! There are several items that I have that I can store, like books and accessories. I would have loved to have had space to have everything..but that’s just not possible. It’s hard. Christmas and birthdays are going to be hard this year.

I know I’ve blogged about this a lot recently…it’s been weighing on me. I got some closure this weekend, but it still doesn’t feel real. I’m not sure if it ever will. I’m trying to pull myself out of this rut, but it’s hard, y’all.

Pulling away from that house is the hardest thing I have ever had to do. It really hurt.

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

