Closure? I guess we’ll see…

I’ve cried, but I still don’t feel like I have closure.

I’m going to her house this weekend to help Mama and Daddy finish cleaning out the house. It might finally hit me then. The empty house. The lack of her singing, her laugh, the smell of her cooking.

I don’t know if i’m ready to let go.

I mean, I was there for the funeral and her graveside service. I cried hard. But I’ve been trying so hard to be strength for my Mama, because I cant fathom how she feels. I need my turn.

This might be a very ugly weekend. Lord, grant me strength and someone give me wine.

EDITH FURMAN

BENNETTSVILLE – Edith Herron Pettigrew Furman passed away on May 20th, 2015, at home after a brief illness.

She was born in Starr on August 30, 1926, the daughter of the late Geroge C. and Edna H. Pettigrew. After growing up in Starr, Mrs. Furman moved to Bennettsville, where she met her husband of over 40 years, the late Haywood G. Furman.

Shew was an active participant in the community and a devoted member of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church.

Mrs. Furman is survived by her three children, Nell Furman Hirsch (Donald), Edie Furman Oswald (Stephen), and William Haywood Furman (Pam); her grandchildren, Alexander, David and Edward Hirsch; Alexa, Lydia and Caroline Oswald; and McColl and Robert Furman; as well as her sister, Martha Pettigrew; and sister-in-law, Miriam L. Pettigrew. Her brother, Robert Pettigrew, predeceased her.

Services were held at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church on Sunday, May 23rd, followed by a private interment.

Donations in her memory may be sent to St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, PO Box 587, Bennettsville, SC 29512.

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

