Small Business Thoughts

I’ve been trying to get myself together and build this business idea I’ve had. It’s not turning out how I thought it would originally. Cutting wine bottles is HARD. Like, really hard.

Something I didn’t realize about wine bottles is that the walls are NOT uniform. That has resulted in a lot of my cuts not being uniform or ending in cracks. So in the end, I’ve spend time etching and breaking the bottle…only to have it crack apart after breaking in water or it forms cracks as I smooth the edges. That really ends up as a danger to me and my S.O. and our cat. Glass isn’t exactly the desired exfoliate for kitten paws.

I LOVE my idea. I just don’t have the money to invest in a powerful diamond blade saw to cut these all right. Even that is no guarantee that I’ll end up with chip and crack free bottles every time. The neck of the bottle usually holds together pretty well. With that in mind, i’m considering moving forward with a different approach.

I tried my first round of actual bottle candles last night. With the 3 decent bottles I’ve managed to break, sand, and fill. They look pretty good! I’m proud of that, but i’m not sure it’s worth all of the time it really took to get to that stage.

It’s almost embarrassing because I, as usual, got overexcited and jumped ahead and started inviting people to a Facebook page and starting thinking about an Etsy page. I’ve pulled the reigns now, and I’m back tracking a little.

I’m wondering if maybe I need to continue with candle making, but in mason jars and tins rather than wine bottles. I understand that the wine bottle was the exciting and new part of this, up-cycling and whatnot…but mason jars are trendy too! I can still break bottles for the necks to make into shades for votive candles.

If you’ve read to this point, God bless you for reading my rant and brainstorm! I’ll write an update soon after i decide what to move forward with.

-A

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Small Business Journey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Small Business Thoughts

  1. amykristin75 says:

    I understand. I’ve been going back and forth for years trying to start a small arty side business. I’ve had a few with minor success, but just haven’t quite figured out how to balance the time and materials compared to what i can sell the project for.

Leave a Reply

