Cat + Watergun = Lesson Learned?

It’s a rainy Wednesday here in Maryland, and all I can think about…other than today being the significant other’s birthday…is snuggling with my kitten.

This morning, s.o. got up and started his morning routine – Which includes getting Indy from his room and plopping him on the bed with me while I lay there, still more than half asleep. This morning, Indy reverted back to being a super snuggle bug and when he hit the sheets he came up and gave me a headbutt on the nose and a kiss before he walked over me and found the perfect spot to curl up. He always curls up in an indent I make: crook of my arm, behind my knees if i’m bending my legs, against my stomach if i’m on my side, and sometimes between my legs.

It is so hard to get up in the morning when a cute little fuzz ball is snoozing away, snuggled up against me. He is just so darned cute!! I needed to get up though…so I did and went about my morning routine.

One thing that Indy is bad about is slipping out the front door. He never gets far, he’s just curious about what’s going on out there. I understand that but he knows he’s not supposed to! He runs under the stairwell and crouches down really low so I have to shoo at him and yell at him to go home. He finally moves and I can get behind him, and he crawls with his belly practically scraping the ground to my neighbor’s door-then the other neighbor’s door..then finally he sinks inside our apartment again. He knows whats coming next. I have to find the water gun and spray him and say no. I hate doing it, he hates me doing it…I wish I didn’t have to do it!!

He’s an indoor cat because it’s safer. I don’t know what my neighbors have on their patios, what the complex has planted or treated the grass with. It’s just better for him to stay inside. It’s also cheaper so we don’t have to constantly worry about fleas and ticks. (I am allergic to flea bites and my eczema will flare.) I want him to be happy, and I want us to be happy. I’m not sure what to do here…

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Cat Adoption Chronicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

