Cat Lady In Training

It’s Friday. Thank GOD!!

So…I surprised the significant other yesterday by bringing home 4 spools that used to hold elevator wires. The plan? to re-use them to build a cat tree!!

I’ve managed to become a crazy cat lady, even before the cat is even here.

I built an Ikea cabinet to use as a litter box hide-away. I’ve ordered and purchased everything but the food and food containers for the future little fur ball. This weekend I will probably spend cleaning and making space and building the aforementioned cat tree.

These things, surprisingly, fit perfectly in the back of my little 2 door VW golf (hatchbacks rule!). Now I just need to trim them down..widen the base…make a few cut outs and the over the whole thing in sisal rope or remnant carpet! I somehow feel like this project is going to be a lot more difficult than i’m imagining. Oh well, it will be worth it.

I fell smitten with a sweet tabby boy at Petco this week as I was trying to finish purchasing items. He was playful, beautiful..and I messaged the adoption agency lady about him. After waiting a full, anxious 24 hours…they replied and noted I left a few things out on the application or they wanted clarification. I did so, as soon as I read the email. I still haven’t heard back. I’m sure they aren’t as glued to their email as I am…but I just want to know if i can meet him without Plexiglas between us!!

Looking for a new family member is hard. There are so many beautiful babies looking for furever homes, and I wish I could take them all! I’m having to think about the future with this one. Is he okay with other pets, animals. Is he okay with children? Does he have any illnesses and issues that he has to live with and we will have to offer additional care for? So many questions need to be asked!

On top of that, the S.O. and I need to agree on the new addition. He doesn’t want long hair. I agree. He doesn’t want a girl cat. I know boy cats can be moody..more so than girls. I’m also very drawn to kitty cat’s eyes and faces..I want a sweet face. I have NO idea what S.O. wants. It’s a little maddening.

I’m doing the equivalent of a new mom reading What to Expect When You’re Expecting by reading blogs, informational sites..anything that talks about bringing home a new cat and how to help them adapt to the new environment.

All of that being said, if the sweet lady that runs the Love A Cat adoption group is reading this…Please say yes, I promise I’ll be a good kitty mommy. He’ll be spoiled and loved and oh so wanted in our home.

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Cat Adoption Chronicles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cat Lady In Training

  1. 💚✌️

    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

Leave a Reply

