Car Woes

It started before Thanksgiving. It was a rainy day and I has just gotten onto I-270 in Germantown. My car then decides to slip in first gear, causing the car to jerk, this happened for about 30 seconds and the Check Engine Light kept blinking and really scared the crap out of me. It only lasted a few moments.

I get to work and let it run for a moment. The light had turned off and the engine had begun to run smoothly again, but it weighed on my mind for a while.

A few weeks before that I had begun to hear an odd noise come from my engine compartment but couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. I ended up thinking that the car was just getting old so I didn’t think much of it.

Then comes Thanksgiving. When Stephen and I try to leave, We check my oil first…the oil warning light had come on on our way down, it was BONE DRY. This was a nightmare in the making. Stephen bought 5L of oil and filled me up, and we let the car run for a while while we went home.

CUE CHRISTMAS-TIME:
I waited until I was at home so Dad and I could change my transmission fluid. Because the CEL came on I wanted to make sure the fluid was clean. We did that and changed my spark plugs. In the process of changing the plugs, my father places my keys on my driver’s seat and shuts the door. Well, my car likes to do this thing where it locks within a few minutes after being unlocked if you don’t start it. So my car locked its keys in itself…

Stephen, Daddy and I use a seamstresses  hanger to pop the lock in the car…with a break in between for Christmas “Dinner”.

Finally, here we are…and I think that the car is finally put back together.

I think.

xoxo, A

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

