Jewelry Organization: How to organize all the shiny things!

I’ve gone my whole life wanting a beautiful jewelry box, maybe one with a matching silver hairbrush and hand mirror. Then reality knocked me over the head. Jewelry boxes are cramped, messy and lead to nothing but knots!

I’ve tried hanging my necklaces off a cork board using thumb tacks. This worked well for a while, but I have a lot of necklaces, some of which are chunky monkeys! It didn’t work in the long run for me…may it will work for you!

 
(this isn’t my image, but its how My cork board used to look!)

Recently, Stephen and I moved to a new apartment. Before this move, I sat down and went through all my boxes and bags that house my jewelry. I put each necklace (and matching earrings, if applicable) into their own fold over sandwich baggie to avoid tangling. I laid out all of my earrings, and in one bag put all of the pairs I had. The stray earrings and rings went in another bag. All of these little baggies went into my jewelry travel pouch for the move.

wpid-wp-1397095410196.jpegNow, I had LOTS of these baggies poking out of every crack when we moved. But I’m very happy I did it. It really make keeping everything together easy!

I set aside the top left drawer in my wardrobe for perfume, jewelry and etc. storage. I wanted to keep it clean and neat so that it didn’t turn into your average junk drawer. All of my nail polish is in a cosmetic bag I got for free from a Playtex tampon box, and it’s super cute! I bought a plastic utensil organizer to store my perfume, deodorant, straightener spray, hair products and nail polish remover.

My FAVORITE kitchen-turned-vanity organizer are my ice cube trays! The curved cube trays are perfect for earring storage because there are no corners for little backs and studs to get stuck in and they are stackable! I bought two and they stack perfectly beside my utensil organizer!

PhotoGrid_1397491573965

Don't mind the mess, this is the before picture!

Don’t mind the mess, this is the before picture!

 

 

 

 

 

It was starting to come along…but obviously those plastic baggies needed to find a new home!

So, I finally came up with necklace and bracelet storage! A TOWEL bar! Okay, I broke the kitchen theme…but it works so well! Living with my boyfriend, he doesn’t want girly stuff all over the place just like I didn’t want the trophy mounted deer in the living room (they are in the den..his man-cave!) Our closet door stays open 95% of the time, so he helped me mount the bar on the wall behind the door! I used “s” curve shower curtain hooks and couldn’t be happier with my results!

IMAG2643 IMAG2685IMAG2707 IMAG2711

And now check out my accessory drawer!! Clean!!

IMAG2709

-a

About Alexa

I may not be a Christina Hendricks red-head, but I am by no means a brunette! I'm a 20-something young professional working as a corporate receptionist and office assistant in Bethesda, MD! I have a great interest in DIY, organization, photography, wine, anything creative, travel, beaches and writing. Check back for updates on the blog about product reviews, gender-related topics, my take on trending topics in the entertainment industry, DIY projects, recipes, wedding planning stories and life's happenings. Oh, and sports (Go Redskins!; C-A-P-S! CAPS! CAPS! CAPS!; Let's Go NATS!).
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

